Sherman

“When I was in school I was getting disgusted with the attitude of art being so

religious or sacred, so I wanted to make something which people could relate to

without having read a book about it first. So that anybody off the street could

appreciate it, even if they couldn’t fully understand it; they could still get

something out of it. That’s the reason why I wanted to imitate something out of

the culture, and also make fun of the culture as I was doing it.

Cindy Sherman

I have often thought this precise thought, except for the last line. I guess that makes sense, so I have to think of how to make what I want come from and speak to this culture we are in.

Leave a Reply

