Mentors Speak

I visited the stedman gallery at rutgers camden today. They have up a faculty show, and today my two favorite professors gave talks on their work. Ken Hohing was a real mentor in the last couple years of undergrad. I think I owe a lot of my creative tendencies to him, in the way I think and make my own work. Bruce Garrity only taught two of my undergrad classes, but his traditional training and emphasis had a lasting impact on how I think about making work, and our friendship has grown due to his involvement with the Hopkins House. Today I liked a few of the words they shared especially:

“Making art is half homage, and half rebuke” – BG
“When I look at landscape photography I feel a loss” – BG
“To be a contemporary photographer, you have to be asking questions” – KH
This thursday afternoon is the artist reception for the entire show if anyone is interested
Leave a Reply

