Explaining where I’m at

Cell Portrait II

So, I thought it might be appropriate to explain in a little more detail my last post, which I affectionately refer to as “and now for something completely different”. This semester started off difficult. Ireland was awesome. I wouldn’t trade it for anything, but the work I had ended up with and polished off to a degree couldn’t be continued. First, I wasn’t in Ireland anymore so that was bound to change things, but also I was discovering that there was a bit of a wall forming between the heart of what I was trying to say and what people were able to see. For a while I really thought that I was trying to communicate a sensibility that was so far off societal radar that it wasn’t even showing up. How can you make people see something that isn’t in their frame of reference? That is the main question I was asking myself as I started meeting with my mentor for this semester, Fred Herr. It took some hard thought, but eventually with his help I was able to nail down why I always said I didn’t really care about nature/environmental issues even though my work would naturally be intertwined with it. Its because I just don’t. In fact, my connection to nature is much more a nostalgic or romantic reaction to a society that is pretty generally messed up. So, what do I think about and look at and react to on a daily basis? If I had to choose one word, it would be technology. I see it as this massive and overwhelming force that has reached the tipping point where it ceases to be the stuff we create and becomes the thing that controls and directs our daily lives. It may not be inherently dangerous, but we better watch our steps.

Leave a Reply

