Upcoming Shows in the New Year

Well, in the midst of applying, which at least for me is a grueling task at its best, I was able to submit to a number of shows over the past few months. I didn’t get into them all, or hear back from them all yet, but I am happy to report that I had work accepted into two venues. One is at the Camden County Cultural & Heritage Commission’s (formerly known as the Hopkins House Gallery) 38th Annual Juried Exhibition. I have been in this show in years past, but I am especially pleased this year because it gave me incentive to get some new work finished and out into the world. Plus this is at a new location, so its nice to be in new territory. The work I got into the show is titled “Glass Hive” (it’s still a work in progress, as is the title) and incorporates a sculptural/photo installation element as well as lights and glass images. It was fun to make and I definitely plan to expand on it once this show is done. I’ll be sure to post some photos of the piece in the gallery space once I have them. The show opens this friday, Jan. 18th from 6-8. I’ll be there if you want to join me.
The second venue was completely new, at the Newspace Center for Photography in Portland, Oregon. The show I got into was called “Photography at the Edge”, looking specifically for work that is on the fringe of standard photographic processes. My piece, Jen (pictured below, left), from the social portrait series got in. I’m glad I could be a part of this show and add another state to my list of places shown.

Jen, from the social portrait series
Inkjet print, 44×57 in, 2012

Finally, I was recently contacted by the Stedman Gallery at Rutgers University requesting some of my work to show in the Library entrance. All I can say is it’s great to be remembered. I’m not sure when exactly that work will be up, but I was told it would probably be soon. So hopefully that can all get sorted out smoothly.

That is all for now. Hopefully I’ll get some more good news soon, not just about exhibition opportunities, but also about some employment opportunities.

Leave a Reply

