Camden County Cultural & Heritage Commission Gallery

Just a small update about my first show as curator at the CCC&HC gallery (new name pending, hopefully). It was my first experience being directly involved in a show that scale, 150 works of art, and it was also the first where I got to be involved in every aspect of what goes on behind the scenes in an open call type show. For now I’ll just post some photos and leave you with one impression I had.

So, one insight I had through the process of the show has to do with the jurying process of open call shows. I’ve submitted to many similar shows on various themes, and whenever I’ve had work not accepted it is tempting to think that the jurors either had some predisposition against the work or that they simply didn’t give a very detailed analysis of the work. I am happy to say that, at least if the jurying process I witnessed first hand is any kind of standard, neither of those could be further from the truth. The two jurors (David Sipple and Carol Taylor-Kearny) spent hours pouring over one piece after another (remember, all 150 of them) and it was obvious by the care and seriousness with which they approached their job that they really wanted to select work that they not only liked, but that merited recognition in the larger context of the show. All that to say that it reassured me for the next time I enter an open call that the work receives fair consideration.

Leave a Reply

