Negative Tonality

My little residency is almost here, and I am in official organizing mode. I’ve ordered all the supplies I need, and right now I’m in the process of choosing negatives (as well as shooting some more photos). Part of that process is fine tuning the tonality of the final negatives so my prints have the widest range possible. Cyanotypes have an inherently narrow tonal range (when compared to darkroom prints), but a well calibrated negative can compensate for most of of the issue and still provide some creamy gradation.

Working on creating some test strips so I can make perfect negatives for the final products

So, I’m working small scale just making little prints with varying levels of contrast, hopefully to arrive at a good balance of tonal range and mid-tone contrast. Soon I’ll be stepping up to a slightly larger scale, and test my results using the same paper the final negative will be on just to verify that the effect carries over. I’m hoping to finish that up in the next couple days and hopefully begin printing my final, full-sized negatives by the end of the week.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

