Goin’ Someplace Special Project

This semester, on top of teaching two classes at RCBC (Intro to Art and Photo 101), I had another opportunity to do a teaching residency through Rutgers – Camden Center for the Arts. For 9 weeks, once a week I’ve been visiting 4 3rd grade classrooms in a Camden charter school. Whenever I get an opportunity like this, I always want to lead the kids in a project that they would never be able to do if I wasn’t visiting, and since my wife is a k-3 art teacher, I have a pretty good idea of the range of projects that elementary students typically accomplish.
So, the project I led them in was a 3 color reduction print-making project of their self portraits. Week by week I led each student through the process. Some of the steps are fairly advanced for 3rd graders to be doing together in a group setting, but I think the final results are awesome. To finish it off, I digitized each of their prints and combined them into a 3×13 foot banner displaying every student that did the project. The text, “we are going someplace special” relates to the book that went along with this project “Goin’ Someplace Special”.
I’m proud of these students for sticking with it even when it got tough and I think this banner will make for a great addition to the school.

Below I’m including some of the best individual prints.

Leave a Reply

