“Much More Muchier”

Sunset at Schoodic Point

Believe it or not, I am beginning to see the process of image editing as much more of a creation process than post-production one. I’m not sure if this is because I am growing into a more substantial vision for how I want my final images to look or because I am beginning to feel more comfort with significantly shaping my images after the shutter has been clicked. Either way, this perspective of editing as image-making has cause my editing process to be much more enjoyable. It is real “studio time” as opposed to a necessary evil of photography.

However, the one drawback of this is that my editing time has definitely increased. Instead of editing within the bounds of my original intent, now I find myself increasingly asking, “how far can this image be pushed”? Pushed to what end? I’m not always sure, but sometimes it is to be “much more muchier”.

This shift has also had me begin revisiting my artist statement. Exciting, right? Ok, all sarcastic remarks aside, it is something that I’ve been wrestling with internally over the last couple years. It seems as soon as I finally finish a good artist statement, it has taken just long enough to craft it that it no longer really applies or feels authentic. As a result, my statement has remained static (and pretty much not true) for the past few years.

But as I said, this shift in image editing philosophy feeds well into a revamped artist statement. Specifically, when I am making work (especially traditionally representational “landscape” type work) I want to push beyond perception. What does that mean? Eh…, I’m still working out the details and how that applies across all work I make, but certain parts of it I really like so far. Hopefully more on this to come.

So this all begs the questions, “Does everyone view image editing this way? Am I just behind the curve as a photography traditionalist?”

Leave a Reply

