Perfecting Image Production

I’m in the absolute final stages of production for the image I’ll be sharing with Acadia National Park. I was hoping to do another social media post through the park’s feed like I did with Rocky Mountain, but they told me they just lost their local social media person, so they couldn’t make it happen. Oh well, better luck next time.

All that to say, it has been a process just getting to this point. I am a huge fan of the software I use for image editing, Adobe Lightroom, but I’ve recently realized something rather profound. Despite being an awesome image editing software and photography workflow tool, it can’t make up for my personal flaws.

Lightroom is an awesome organizational tool, but I have to be the one to set up and use my organizational system. It is an incredible editing tool, but only I can invest the time in perfecting my images (and sometimes more importantly, deciding which images not to edit). Sigh… some days I become painfully aware of my own limits and blind spots.

But still, it is often moments like this that offer some clarity. They allow some introspection that solidify or reframe why I am doing what I’m doing. It’s never fun coming to this place, but it is always worth walking through it.

Leave a Reply

